The Ranking Factory vs Profound
· The Ranking Factory
Profound suits organisations that want up to nine answer engines, real-user prompt data and enterprise security controls, and that will agree a price through a demo request. The Ranking Factory suits businesses, consultants and agencies that want listed prices from $49 a month, a 14-day trial they can start themselves, and evidence pages written and published on their own site, then measured again.
Every fact about Profound on this page was read from Profound's own pages on 29 September 2026; the pages are linked in the text and listed under Sources.
At a glance
| Feature | The Ranking Factory | Profound |
|---|---|---|
| What it does | Asks ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude, Grok and DeepSeek the questions buyers ask and reads Google's AI Overviews as a separate surface. Where the answers name competitors instead of the business, it writes the missing evidence from the business's own material, publishes it on the business's own site once that is connected, and measures again. | Describes itself as an AI marketing platform: tracks answer engines, and its Agents draft content and stage it for approval. |
| Entry price, as shown 29 Sep 2026 | Starter $49 a month, Growth $129, Agency $249, Enterprise $499 (US dollars). Annual plans are ten months for twelve. AI queries run on your own AI keys, and Google AI Overview checks on your own DataForSEO credit (default budget $10 a month on Starter). | No self-serve paid plan is shown for brands: a free Trial, or Enterprise at a custom price. Agencies: Agency Growth at $99 a month plus add-ons, with a client workspace add-on at $399 a month. |
| Engines covered | 3 of 6 engines per run: ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity, Claude, Grok and DeepSeek, whichever you connect on your own keys, plus Google AI Overviews as a separate surface. Google's own AI Overview and AI Mode impressions can be imported from a Search Console export. | Trial: ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews. Enterprise: up to nine, including Google AI Mode, Microsoft Copilot, DeepSeek and Exa Search. |
| Publishes content for you | Yes. Pages written from the business's own material go to its own site once connected (WordPress, Shopify, Wix, Ghost or a signed webhook), with Google Docs, Sheets, Slides and Blogger as supporting pieces and a video on its own YouTube channel. Publishing is on by default; review-before-publishing is a setting. | Drafts pages and stages them in your CMS for approval. Agents connect to WordPress, Contentful, Drupal, Framer, Sanity, Adobe Experience Manager and others, and a Human Review step can pause an Agent before output. |
| Agent access (MCP) | Read and write on every plan, the trial included. Writes stay off until you tick a box; five write tools, capped at 30 writes an hour, every attempt audited. | Hosted MCP server. OAuth 2.1 is recommended; a long-lived Bearer token needs the Enterprise plan and API access. Which plans get OAuth is not stated. |
| Trial | 14 days on the Growth monthly plan. Card details are taken at sign-up and nothing is charged for 14 days; then $129 a month unless you cancel. The free site check needs no account, card or AI keys. | Free Trial plan: 50 prompts a day for 7 days on three engines, from a fixed recommended set. Whether a card is needed is not stated. |
| Who it is for | Agencies, consultants and in-house teams. | Brands buying an Enterprise package, and agencies buying Agency plans with client workspaces. |
Sources: Profound's pricing page (brands and agencies tabs), home page, MCP docs and changelog, read 29 Sep 2026; The Ranking Factory's pricing page, in US dollars.
Where Profound is stronger
- Engine reach. Profound's Enterprise list adds Google AI Mode, Microsoft Copilot and Exa Search to the engines The Ranking Factory covers (pricing page, 29 Sep 2026). The Ranking Factory does not list Copilot and does not measure AI Mode as a surface.
- How answers are collected. Profound says it captures the front-end experiences users see rather than calling APIs (Answer Engine Insights page, 29 Sep 2026). The Ranking Factory's scores come from the engines' APIs, which is not the same as the ChatGPT app or AI Mode.
- Demand data. Prompt Volumes is a dataset of real user prompts, now across 35 countries (changelog, 28 Aug 2026 entry, read 29 Sep 2026). The Ranking Factory buys no keyword-volume database and estimates no search volume.
- Data access and security. Profound lists a REST API (on request) with Python and JavaScript SDKs, CSV and JSON export, SOC 2 Type II, SSO and SCIM (API docs, pricing page, Answer Engine Insights page and changelog, 29 Sep 2026). The Ranking Factory's route to your data is its MCP server and PDF audit reports; its pages state no public REST API, SOC 2 report or SSO.
- Bot traffic and shopping. Agent Analytics reads logs from Cloudflare, CloudFront, Vercel, Fastly, Netlify, Akamai and others (docs, 29 Sep 2026), and ChatGPT Shopping tracking is listed on Enterprise (pricing page). The Ranking Factory reads AI-crawler hits from a Cloudflare zone only, and states no shopping tracking.
- Agencies. Pitch workspaces convert to client workspaces, and a dedicated agency team is listed (pricing page, agencies tab, 29 Sep 2026).
Where The Ranking Factory differs
- Published prices. Four fixed prices, $49 to $499 a month. Profound's pricing page for brands shows a free Trial and a custom-priced Enterprise plan; its only listed prices are for agencies: $99 a month plus add-ons, and $399 a month per client workspace (pricing page, 29 Sep 2026).
- Trial. 14 days on the Growth monthly plan, against Profound's 7-day Trial on three engines with a fixed set of 50 prompts (pricing page, 29 Sep 2026).
- Who pays for the queries. The Ranking Factory asks the engines through your own AI keys, and Google AI Overview checks use your own DataForSEO credit. For scale, on our own account in September 2026 a weekly run of 10 questions on two or three engines with live search cost $0.55 on average and $1.09 at most, about $2.40 a month per project; writing costs extra and varies with how much is written.
- Ranges and sample sizes. Every rate carries a 95% range and the number of prompt-and-engine pairs behind it. Profound's metrics page defines its visibility score by formula and does not describe ranges or sample sizes (docs, 29 Sep 2026).
- Content. Both draft content. The Ranking Factory's writers may state what a business does only from its own pages, videos and statements or from sources they have read, and unsupported figures are cut before publishing. Profound's Agents draft pages and stage them for approval (home page, 29 Sep 2026).
- Agent access. Both offer MCP. The Ranking Factory's is read and write on every plan, the trial included, with writes off until you opt in. Profound's Bearer token needs Enterprise, and which plans get OAuth is not stated (MCP docs, 29 Sep 2026).
From our own account, read on 20 September 2026: 32% → 84% of Gemini’s live-search answers cited therankingfactory.com — 6 of 19 on 15 August 2026, 16 of 19 on 24 August 2026, nine days apart on the same model and the same prompt set. In the same 24 August run OpenAI’s live search cited us in 64% of answers (16 of 25) and Perplexity in 40% (10 of 25). Some prompts carry our name, and the run says which. (Home page, "Measured on ourselves".)
Which to choose
- Choose Profound if you need up to nine engines, real-user prompt volumes, a REST API or SOC 2 Type II, and you are content to buy an Enterprise package through a demo request.
- Choose Profound if you run an agency and want pitch workspaces that convert into client workspaces.
- Choose The Ranking Factory if you want a listed price and a 14-day trial you can start yourself.
- Choose The Ranking Factory if the aim is closing gaps: pages written from your own material, published on your own site, and measured again, with a range beside every rate.
- Not sure yet? The free site check reads one web address and needs no account, card or AI keys.
Sources
- https://www.tryprofound.com/pricing (Trial, Enterprise and For agencies tabs), read 29 Sep 2026
- https://www.tryprofound.com/, read 29 Sep 2026
- https://www.tryprofound.com/features/answer-engine-insights, read 29 Sep 2026
- https://product.tryprofound.com/changelog, read 29 Sep 2026
- https://docs.tryprofound.com/introduction, read 29 Sep 2026
- https://docs.tryprofound.com/llms.txt, read 29 Sep 2026
- https://docs.tryprofound.com/rest-api/introduction, read 29 Sep 2026
- https://docs.tryprofound.com/mcp/authentication, read 29 Sep 2026
- https://docs.tryprofound.com/cookbook/metrics/how-metrics-are-calculated, read 29 Sep 2026
- https://therankingfactory.com/pricing (The Ranking Factory plans, prices and trial), read 29 Sep 2026
- https://therankingfactory.com/ (figures from our own account, read 20 Sep 2026)